Newsmakers: AIA Honolulu Announces 2024 Board, Focus on Advocacy 

Wayne Goo

Wayne Goo, American Institute of Architects Honolulu Chapter president, is tasked with continuing the efforts of AIA Honolulu’s 2022-2025 Strategic Plan and remains committed to critical concerns such as ethics, housing, climate change, equity and practice.

In 2024, Goo will also continue to emphasize professional advocacy and assurance that AIA architects are dedicated to designing for the health, safety and welfare of the general public.

“AIA Honolulu’s legislative advocacy is one of the best examples of how the organization works for our profession. Advocacy benefits all architects, whether they are members or not,” Goo said in a statement. “Professional advocacy in architecture is essential for shaping a conducive regulatory environment, promoting the value of the profession and ensuring that architects can contribute their expertise to creating a built environment that enhances the quality of life for everyone.”

Professional advocacy plays a crucial role in the field of architecture as it serves as a powerful force for promoting and safeguarding the interests of architects, their clients and the built environment. It involves actively championing policies, regulations and standards that contribute to the betterment of the profession and the quality of architectural projects.

“Architects are not only designers, we are problem-solvers who address complex challenges related to urban planning, environmental sustainability and community well-being,” Goo says.

AIA Honolulu is tracking Bills 64 (LUO update) and 65 (Adoption of the State Building Code), and welcomes the opportunity to work with the Department of Planning & Permitting and the Honolulu City Council to provide guidance and input.

In addition to the new executive team, the AIA Honolulu board of directors includes:

  • Laura Ayers, Whitespace Architects
  • Jason Davis, RIM Architects
  • Jill Edelman, DRaGonfly Regenerative Architecture & Design
  • Lance Hirai, G70
  • Charlotte Lu, Guerin Glass Architects
  • Darren Lee, Palekana Permitting and Planning
  • Maziyar Rajaei, Oculus LLC
  • Carol Torigoe, KYA Inc.
  • Joette Yago, City and County of Honolulu
  • Marcos Cruz Ortiz, Design Partners Inc.
  • Karen Hong, Atlas Insurance
  • Lindsay Orman, Starn, O’Toole, Marcus & Fisher

Related Images:

More articles